ACOFP is proud of its exceptional members and their commitment to excellence and upholding osteopathic values. We are happy to share this year’s winners, who were chosen by members, committees, state societies, colleges of osteopathic medicine and residency programs, with the final selection made by the ACOFP Board of Governors.

2020 Osteopathic Family Physician of the Year

The ACOFP Osteopathic Family Physician of the Year Award honors physicians who have made outstanding contributions to the osteopathic profession and local communities.

Jeffrey Grove bwJeffrey S. Grove, DO, FACOFP dist., was chosen as the 2020 ACOFP Osteopathic Physician of the Year. Dr. Grove has been an ACOFP member for over 30 years and served on the ACOFP Board for 12 years; in 2013–2014 as ACOFP president. In 2016, he was awarded the ACOFP Excellence in Advocacy Award. In 2019, Crain’s Chicago Business named Dr. Grove as a Notable LGBTQ Executive.

As founder of the ACOFP LGBTQI+ Committee, and the Jeffrey Grove, DO, FACOFP dist., Minority/LGBTQI+ Health Disparity & Wellness Poster Competition, Dr. Grove has been a champion for diverse populations in osteopathic family medicine and for the LGBTQI+ community.

2020 Outstanding Female Leader

The ACOFP Outstanding Female Leader award honors female physicians who serve as clinical role models, teachers, highly accomplished professional leaders and sources of inspiration for women and men who are in medical training.

Janette WilcoxJanette M. Willcox, DO, FACOFP has been named the 2020 ACOFP Outstanding Female Leader. Dr. Willcox is the dean of  the Virginia Campus of the Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine (VCOM). She became a fellow of ACOFP in 2009. Dr. Willcox joined VCOM in 2002 as the founding associate dean of clinical academic affairs and played an integral role in the development of VCOM’s curriculum and medical education programs.

She serves on the board of directors for the Virginia Osteopathic Medical Association, the Medical Society of Virginia and the Osteopathic International Alliance, as well as on the AACOM Board of Deans.

2020 Educator of the Year and Distinguished Service

The ACOFP Educator of the Year Award honors an individual who exemplifies the osteopathic family medicine profession’s highest standards of excellence in teaching and has made significant, commendable, and long-standing contributions to the academic advancement of osteopathic students, residents and the osteopathic profession.

Christopher Zipp bwChristopher P. Zipp, DO, MS, FACOFP, FAAFP, has been selected as the 2020 ACOFP Educator of the Year award winner. Dr. Zipp is the department chair of family medicine at Morristown Medical Center and serves as clinical associate professor at Sidney Kimmel Medical College of Thomas Jefferson University (SKMC) and Rowan-SOM. He is a constant advocate for medical education and has volunteered his time and expertise on several ACOFP committees, including the Committee on Osteopathic Recognition and Development. In 2019, Dr. Zipp’s work with the In-Service Exam Committee on certification correlation on the CORTEx exam was honored with the American Osteopathic Association STAR Award.

Dr. Zipp was also recognized in 2020 with a Distinguished Service Award for his contributions to the In-Service Examination Committee and years of service to ACOFP.

2020 Young Osteopathic Physician of the Year

The ACOFP Young Osteopathic Physician of the Year Award honors physicians who have made significant contributions to family medicine between two and 10 years after entering the specialty.

Henlye.Kathleen bwKathleen M. Henley, DO, has been selected as the 2020 Young Osteopathic Physician of the Year. Dr. Henley completed her medical degree from Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine in 2013. She is currently employed at Atlantic General Hospital in Ocean City, Maryland. She also serves as the utilization review and clinical documentation improvement physician advisor and as the Maryland delegate on the board of trustees for the Pennsylvania Osteopathic Family Physicians Society.

Dr. Henley has volunteered on several ACOFP committees, including Future Leaders, Medical Outreach, New Physicians and Residents and Health Exposition.

2020 Excellence in Advocacy Award

The ACOFP Excellence in Advocacy Award recognizes physicians who have significantly contributed their time and talents to national health care policy issues at the local, state and/or federal levels on behalf of his/her profession and patients.

DeRegnier bwKevin V. de Regnier, DO, FACOFP, dist., has been chosen as the recipient of the 2020 Excellence in Advocacy Award. He served as president of ACOFP in 2015–2016, is a distinguished fellow, has volunteered as a member and chair of numerous ACOFP committees and is a member of the American Osteopathic Association’s board.

In addition to over 30 years as a physician, Dr. de Regnier offers his time and services to several other osteopathic associations and medical organizations and supports his community by helping with causes such as suicide prevention, hospice care, first responders support, the DARE program and more.

2020 Lifetime Achievement Award

The ACOFP Lifetime Achievement Award honors outstanding individuals who have demonstrated career-long service to patients, osteopathic family medicine and ACOFP.

Kenneth Nelson bwKenneth E. Nelson, DO, FACOFP dist., has been selected as the Lifetime Achievement Award winner. Dr. Nelson has received numerous awards including the Distinguished Service Award from both ACOFP and AOA; the Outstanding Achievement Award from the Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine; and the Ward Perrin, DO, Distinguished Service Award. He is also in the AOA Mentor Hall of Fame.

Dr. Nelson has published hundreds of articles and collaborated on several textbooks, including ACOFP’s Somatic Dysfunction in Osteopathic Family Medicine. He has been an ACOFP fellow since 1998 and became a distinguished fellow in 2010.

Distinguished Service Awards

This award honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding service to ACOFP through committee involvement or other activities that help achieve ACOFP’s objectives. The final selection is made by the ACOFP president.

Joel Feder


Joel M. Feder, DO, FACOFP dist.
Recognized for contributions as chair of the Program Committee and years of service to ACOFP



Jonathan Torres


Jonathan W. Torres, DO, MPA, FAAO, FACOFP
Recognized for contributions as chair of the CORTEx Examination Committee and years of service to ACOFP




Leave a Reply